The Bulk User Upload feature allows Admins to upload a list of up to 100 Users to an Account using a CSV import process. This makes the initial User creation and administration process easier.
Learn how to access ACL settings. Only Admin Users with the assigned User Upload ACL permission can access the Bulk User Upload feature.
Important: There is a hard limit of 400 User records allowed per Account (this is different than the count of assigned Licenses.) Contact your CSM to have this amount raised.
Contents:
Bulk Upload Users
1.) Click the Account main menu.
2.) Click the Users menu option.
The Users page will open.
3.) Click the Bulk Upload Users button.
The Bulk Upload Users page will open.
4.) In the Select your File to upload section, click the Download Template button to download a CSV (comma-separated values) template file.
- If you already have the template downloaded, or a file that matches the template ready to upload, skip to Step 8.
5.) Open the CSV file in a spreadsheet application, (Google Sheets or Microsoft Excel.)
The template has columns for First Name, Last Name, and Email Address attributes that will appear in each User profile.
- The CSV file template only supports attributes for First Name, Last Name, and Email Address. Once the User is uploaded, Admins can edit other attributes/settings on the User, for example updating ACL assignments and creating Passwords. More attributes may be added to the template at a later time.
6.) For each User you want to add, enter the following required information in these columns in the spreadsheet:
- First Name
- Last Name
- Email Address
7.) After the spreadsheet is populated with all the Users you want to add, save it as a .csv file locally.
Note: Bulk Upload can handle up to 100 Users, an Account can have up to 400 Users. The limit can be increased but ONLY with approval.
8.) On the Bulk Upload Users page, click the Choose File button in the Upload File field.
9.) Select the file in the File Picker window that opens when Choose file is clicked.
You can also drag and drop a file into this field.
Once you have a file selected, the Start Import button will appear.
10.) Click the Start Import button to begin to upload process.
You will see the upload process in the Upload in Process section.
When the upload completes the Upload Results will appear on the Bulk Upload Users page, in the Upload Complete section.
Upload Results:
| Record Type | Description |
|---|---|
| Success Records | Records that were uploaded successfully. |
| Failed Records |
Records that failed to upload. Possible reasons include:
|
| Duplicates Found | Users that appear two or more times in the CSV file. |
| Updated Records | Records for existing users that were updated through the CSV Import process. Currently, only User Names can be updated and reimported. Important: Changing the email address of an existing user will create a new user record because the User Email Address is used as a unique identifier. |
| Total Records | The total number of records contained in the CSV file. |
Note: There is a hard limit of 400 user records allowed per Account, if users attempt to upload more users than their account currently allows, they will an error message notifying that they have reached the max number of users.
Copy Settings (Optional)
Choose which specific User and Queue settings to copy such as; ACL, skill routing, and callback options to configure the uploaded users consistently without individual manual editing.
- Select a User from the Copy Settings From User drop-down.
- Click the View button to open the settings for the selected User.
- Click the Yes/No toggles next to each setting to copy that setting from the specified user to the Uploaded Users.
User Settings
| Access Control Settings |
Determines whether Access Control settings are copied from the selected user.
|
| Agent Interface Settings |
Determines whether Agent Interface settings are copied.
|
| Inbound Settings | Determines whether the selected user's inbound configuration is copied. |
| SMS Settings | Determines whether the selected user's SMS configurations is copied. |
| Data Access | Determines whether the selected user's data access settings are copied. |
| Callback Options | Determines whether callback-related options and configuration are copied. |
| Skill Routing | Determines whether the selected user's skill routing configuration is copied. |
Queue Settings
| Main | Determines whether the user's main queue settings are copied. |
| Call Routing | Determines whether queue-level call routing settings are copied. |
| Scripts & Call Launch | Determines whether script and call launch settings associated with queues are copied. |
| After Hours Settings | Determines whether after-hours queue configuration is copied. |
| Admin Data Access | Determines whether queue administrative data access settings are copied. |
- Once settings have been selected/de-selected, click the Apply Changes button.
A Success confirmation modal window will open confirming the number of users to which the settings were applied.
You will see the Users you added in the table of the Show Users page.
To see the User Settings for a User, click the User Name, Email, or Action drop-down in the Action column and click the Settings option, to access the User Settings page for that User.
User Upload ACL
A new ACL called User Upload has been added. Only Admin Users with the assigned User Upload permission in the ACL can access the Bulk User Upload feature.
1.) From the Users page, click the User Name, Email, or use Action drop-down in the Action column and click the Settings option, to access the settings for the User.
2.) On the User's settings page, click the Access Control List tab.
In the Access Control List section, you can edit the ACL settings for that User.
3.) Click the Create ACL button in the User ACL field.
4.) Scroll down the list until you find User Upload in the Users section of the ACL list.
5.) Click or unclick the checkboxes for the User Upload option to give that User the Bulk User Upload capability.
6.) Click the blue Apply Changes button to apply the ACL settings for that User.